Hey Homies… Cleaning Tips and Tipples!

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted here. Haven’t been doing much baking, cooking or homey-fying the house lately. I’ve been mostly working, but have recently been promoted to a new position that doesn’t involve travel. This means regular hours, which leaves time for me to get back into my home-making. And back into blogging. And the girls at work have heard enough about my baking that they are beginning to threaten violence if I don’t bring some in.

A big thing I want to focus on lately, though, is de-cluttering the house. It’s time for a spring cleaning!

And, it wouldn’t be my blog if I didn’t include something you can make yourself. Here’s a recipe I found for making your own fabric refresher (Febreeze, if you will. Don’t sue me…).

1/8th cup of fabric softener of your choice. Personally, I like Gain.

2 TBsp Baking Soda

Hot Water

Put into a spray bottle (you can use an old fabric refresher bottle, if you want), add the water, shake and enjoy! I’ve read a few different recipes for fabric refresher and like this one best for its inclusion of Baking Soda. Baking Soda is a natural deodorizer, so instead of just masking the smell, you actually help get rid of the stink that is stinkifying your fabrics. This is a good thing. You don’t want your couch to smell like flowers and an armpit, do you? Actually, if your couch smells like an armpit, maybe you should just buy a new couch. And possibly some new deodorant.

This recipe isn’t really better for the environment or for those with chemical sensitivities as fabric softener isn’t really natural. I guess you could use a natural fabric softener, if you wanted. But making it yourself is cheaper and you can get your own scent by using your favourite fabric softener. Customize-able! Score!

And what would be a Cleaning Tips and Tipples post without the most important part, the tipple? Bet you’d thought I’d forget, didn’t you? OK, the original recipe was a “mock-tail”, which isn’t really any fun. I mean, really, a fruity drink with no booze sounds like breakfast on a juice cleanse diet, doesn’t it? And we’ve already made the house smell nicer, we don’t need to make the bathroom stink by drinking papaya juice spiked with cayenne powder.

Here’s a recipe for a drink I found called a Spring Fever:

  • 3/4 oz lemon juice
  • 3/4 oz mango syrup
  • 1 1/2 oz apple juice
  • 2 oz blood orange juice
  • 2 oz vodka

OK. OK. I know you probably don’t have blood orange juice. Just use regular orange juice and add a titch of raspberry juice to it. Or just use the orange juice and raspberry-flavoured vodka. Whatever. Add the ingredients to a shaker full of ice and shake it like a Polaroid picture (how very 2003).  Strain and serve it over crushed ice. Or you can just throw the works into a blender. Saves some ice and you don’t have to clean the shaker.

I like to serve this with a slice of orange. I drank it before I got a chance to take a picture. And now that the house smells like a dream, so I can probably put off the de-cluttering for another week or so.

This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips and Tipples, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey Homies… Cleaning Tips and Tipples!

  1. judessa says:

    i like this..specally the mom..

Leave a Reply

