It’s been awhile…

Image

And there have been a lot of changes in my life. My husband and I have separated, I have purchased and moved into my own condo, and adopted a dog. My relationship issues are part of the reason that I haven’t posted lately. I didn’t really feel like posting on a homemaking blog when my own home life was in shambles. And, besides, it’s hard cooking for one and what was the point in trying to keep my home and make it lovely when I was the only one living here?

Then I realized how fucked up that line of thinking really was. Yes, it may be just little ole me in this condo (well, I also have Bea, a french bulldog, sharing my bed) and I may be the only one here most of the time, but this is my house and this is my life, and I alone am worth the effort of a warm, inviting, homey place to come home to at the end of a hard day. I don’t need a husband or a gaggle of kids running underfoot to bake something lovely or to arrange flowers for the dining room. In fact, it’s even MORE important to do it for yourself! I’m currently at a point in my life where I need to be surrounded by the people and things I love. And that just may include cinnamon rolls made from scratch (I’ll be popular in the office tomorrow).

If you can’t love and care for yourself, how can you do it for anyone else?

So if there are any other newly single ladies out there who are struggling with the idea of making your newly single house, apartment or condo a home, please know that you aren’t alone and that you deserve to be surrounded by comfort and beauty. And I’m going to keep posting because it brings me joy. Do what brings YOU joy. Even when you don’t feel like it, because it is those times that you need it the most.

And if I can dig out my camera, I’ll post a photo of the beautiful cinnamon rolls that are on their second rise. The smell is already driving little Bea nuts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

