Introductions…

Hi. My name is Laura and I got married last October. I’ve always enjoyed cooking (I used to do it professionally), but I’ve always had a problem with organizing, cleaning and “home-making”. I work full time, but that isn’t an excuse not to create a nice home for us, so I decided to explore domesticity.

I’ve always enjoyed watching Martha Stewart and I read a lot of magazines that focus on domestics, but I’ve never really thought that I would actually do any of the tips and tricks myself. They just seemed like good ideas that no one really has the time or energy to actually do, much like making your own paper or gilding pine cones for your Christmas tree. These things aren’t really taught any more to young girls, or at least not young girls where I grew up. Many of us leave college, move out and go to work, but were never really shown how to set up a house and make it comfortable and personal.

I don’t really know how this will all turn out, but it’s bound to be interesting. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Introductions…

  1. sharon moores (mother) says:

    Awesome! What a great job especially the closet cleanup!

  2. Laura says:

    LOL, thanks Mom. How did I know you’d be most excited about the closet?

  3. sharon moores says:

    Laura this is super maybe I can offer some useful hints!!!!!

  4. sharon moores says:

    PS I’m the other Sharon the( AUNT)!!!!!

  5. Laura says:

    Absolutely! Send ’em my way and I’ll post them!

  6. Plum Kitchen says:

    Good luck Laura, you are so right about all that domestic stuff, I think you learn as you go along. I discovered recently Baking Soda will clean my oven (with a large dose of elbow grease!), still a hideous job but at least I didnt choke on awful fumes from the oven cleaner…………felt very virtuous pouring myself a glass of vino afterwards:)

Leave a Reply

