On Projects and Posting…

So, I decided that I need to get things started with my home-making. One of the things that I really need is a key rack-holder-hanger-thing. I’m sure there’s an official name, but I don’t know what it is and you all know what I’m talking about. And while I could easily go to the local big box department store for a cheap one or to a little boutique downtown for a cute and expensive one, I am going to make one myself.

Why? Well, I have a cousin who is an artist and I remember going to her home when I was about 16 or so. Her home was full of art and sculptures that she had made herself or were given as gifts from friends. I remember being in awe of how everything she had in her home meant something to her and had a story. And that’s kind of what I’d like my house to be like, as well.

When I’m done, we can all hold hands and sing Kumbaya if you’re still feelin’ the love.

Anyway, I’m not especially crafty, but I figure you have to start somewhere. I’m going to the local craft store tomorrow to get a plaque, some stencils, paint and a few little hooks. That way I can make something cute and (hopefully) cheap. And I’ll get to avoid the screaming children at the big box store and the scornful derision of the saleslady at the boutique downtown. There isn’t really a downside to this. I’ll photograph my steps along the way and hopefully fill this blog with little posts about my projects.

Project #1: The Key Rack, coming up.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

