Make your own Daily Shower Cleaner

Ok, so I love daily shower cleaners. After you get out of the shower, you just spray everything down and it prevents soap scum from building up and you’re done. Easiest way to keep your shower clean. But I got to thinking: what the hell is in this stuff that I keep spraying all over the shower and probably get on the soap that I rub on my naked body? And my skin is pretty sensitive (or irritable, as I like to call it), so there has to be a way to make your own spray. I found a few recipes that used dishwasher rinse aid, but I don’t want that on my skin, either.

It took a while, but I found a recipe for a shower cleaner that you don’t have to rinse off and doesn’t include other chemicals that I can’t pronounce. My main concern isn’t to be green or to save money, but to keep as much crap off of my cranky skin as possible. When my skin is happy, I’m happy.

Here’s the recipe I found:

1. In a 32 ounce spray bottle, add 1/3 of a cup of distilled white vinegar.

2. Fill the rest of the bottle with hot water.

3. To prevent your shower from smelling like a salad (the vinegar smell goes away as it dries, but that could take a while seeing as the shower is damp), add a few drops of essential oil. I like grapefruit, but you could use whatever you like.

After you get out of the shower, I find using a squeegee first to get rid of water on shower doors helps a lot. Then I spray with the shower spray. If you have a shower curtain, leave it pulled across to help it dry quickly and prevent mildew. After the curtain has dried, make sure you open the curtain to let the rest of the shower dry well.

Make sure you don’t use full strength vinegar in your shower. Full strength vinegar is actually pretty acidic and it has been known to eat away at your caulking and cause mold to build up. This is not good. If you want a moldy shower, just skip the shower cleaner completely and wait a few weeks.

Anyway, I’ll have to see how well this works over the next few weeks. It smells great and I’m not worried about inadvertently washing myself with it after it gets onto my soap. My skin is much happier with this arrangement. And, again not my first concern, it is cheaper that buying shower spray and it is also pretty green. Well, not literally green. It’s actually yellow-ish from the grapefruit oil.

This entry was posted in Cleaning/Organizing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make your own Daily Shower Cleaner

  1. Plum Kitchen says:

    Hi there, neat idea thanks, will give it a try……… I HATE cleaning the shower!

  2. Pingback: Make your own Body Scrub | Let's Get Homey, Homies!

Leave a Reply

