Make your own Body Scrub

Let’s face it, beauty products aren’t cheap. And it’s sometimes a crap shoot where fragrances are concerned. I am really particular about scents. There’s nothing worse than spending a lot of money on a product only to get it home and hate the scent. Ok, maybe there are worse things. I tend to get a little melodramatic when it comes to fragrances.

Anyway, I was browsing Martha’s website (I think we should elevate her to single name status like Madonna, personally) and I saw a bunch of recipes for beauty products. And I asked Grant for some grapefruit scented body scrub for Christmas last year (he got me soap, which is close enough) and I’ve always loved the scent, so I’m going to make my own. And it’s cheaper, unlike certain awesome key racks.

Scented Body Scrub

2 cups Epsom Salts

1 cup of carrier oil (more on that later)

8 drops of essential oil (had a ton leftover from the Daily Shower Cleaner recipe posted earlier)

1 drop of food colouring

Canning Jar

Ok, first I had to get the Epsom salts. The recipe says you can also use organic cane sugar, but the salts were cheaper and they have the added benefits of magnesium that can be absorbed through the skin. Magnesium helps to reduce inflammation (this would be good to use on aching feet), as well they help to prevent wrinkly skin if you soak in the bath for a long time. So you could just dump some of the salts into the water, or use the scrub before a soak if you don’t want pruny feet. Why this is a problem remains a mystery to me.

Next I had to figure out what the hell a carrier oil was. Is it oil that is squeezed from carriers? Apparently, it’s an oil that is used to “carry” fragrance or essential oils. You can use whatever carrier oil you have. I used canola oil because I had that kicking around and apparently it’s in the middle of the range of viscosity for carrier oils (thank you, Wikipedia!).

1. Stir together Epsom salt and carrier oil.

2. Add essential oil, drop by drop. Add 1 drop of food colouring and stir to mix. I used pink grapefruit and red food colouring to make a nice, pink salt. You can use whatever you want. Mint oil and blue or green would be great, too.

3. Dump it into a canning jar. Martha has also included a bunch of instructions on downloading clip art to make customized labels, but that is why she has a TV show and I don’t. I just decided to keep it in the bathroom so I didn’t think it was pink Himalayan sea salt and put it on my food.

Done. Now you can scrub your skin to a soft, polished sheen all while enjoying the invigorating scent of pink grapefruit! And it’s waaay cheaper than buying it. The initial investment isn’t really cheap, but you can make tons of the stuff with the supplies! Score! I doubt Martha would be proud, but I’m pretty pleased.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make your own Body Scrub

  1. Nadia Gubba says:

    This looks like a really easy method! I will definitely have to give this a try- I spend a fortune on body scrubs! Nx

  2. Reeni says:

    I love making my own stuff at home! This looks like a good one! Except I wouldn’t use the food coloring… Epsom salts are good for your garden too – mix with water for tomatoes and rose bushes.

  3. Ladybird says:

    Hi Laura, thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 Your devil’s food cake looks delicious, but your body scrub post caught my eye – this looks really easy to make! Would make a nice gift 🙂 I hear olive oil is also very good in salt based scrubs.

  4. This looks great…and easy! I could kick myself because I bought a whole new pot of body scrub yesterday.

Leave a Reply

