Project #2: Tree Stump Trivet, Part 1

So I was surfing the ubiquitous Martha’s site again, looking for some cute trivets. I don’t have any trivets and they would really come in handy when I’ve cooked something and want to serve it in the dish it was cooked in (ie Macaroni and Cheese). Then I saw these adorable little tree stump trivets that you make with felt and fabric glue. Looks incredibly easy (love!) and I can do it at night while watching TV (double love!). Here’s what you need:

Felt in 3 shades of brown (beige, medium brown and dark brown)

Fabric Glue

1. Cut the felt into strips, about 16 inches long and 1 inch wide. You’ll need 14 light brown/beige, 12 medium brown and 5 dark brown. My felt sheets weren’t 16 inches long, so I just cut them into 1 inch strips. They were about 12 inches long and seemed to work fine.

2. Dot a bead of fabric glue on the lightest colour fabric. Roll it onto itself, continuing to glue and roll until you have a circle about 1/2 an inch in diameter. Cut the remaining felt strip off.

3. Start with the medium brown and dab a bit of glue so that it lines up with the end of the beige strip. Keep gluing and coiling until it goes around two or three times, then snip it off and move onto the beige. You don’t have to worry too much about it being even on both sides, just make sure it’s flat on one side. Martha said it was okay, alright?!?!

I kept going until the glue started to make me woozy. Note to self: open the freaking window and turn on the fan when doing this! I got them about this large so far, and will continue them tomorrow. It kind of looks more like a cinnamon bun as opposed to a tree stump, but I have faith that this will look like a stump in the end! Martha hasn’t failed me yet (more like I’ve failed her when my projects don’t go right).

Stay tuned for part 2! Same homey time, same homey blog! Weekend project! Squee!

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Project #2: Tree Stump Trivet, Part 1

  1. Reeni says:

    These are cute! And they do look like a cinnamon roll, a very perfect one.

  2. Laura says:

    Thanks! I’m pretty pleased with how it’s turning out! I just need a better smelling glue. This stuff stinks!

  3. jeezycreezy says:

    Hehe, so adorable!!
    And yeah, E-6000 is terrible smell-wise…..performance-wise, though, it’s amazing. lol

  4. jeezycreezy says:

    Meant to add–if you’re just gluing felt, you could try a hot glue gun, and it should work….

  5. Laura says:

    Eeep, every time I use a hot glue gun, I burn the shit out of my fingers! I’ll try to find a less stinky cold glue first. Thanks for the tip, though! I’ll have to keep it in mind after I give myself permanent brain damage from the E-6000!

  6. Tina says:

    of all the people in the world, I am SO happy you started a blog Laura!

  7. Pingback: Project #2: Tree Stump Trivet, Part 2: Electric Boogaloo | Let's Get Homey, Homies!

Leave a Reply

