Make Your Own Multi-Purpose Wipes

Who doesn’t love multi-purpose wipes? They’re convenient and you just use pull one off, wipe up the mess on the counter and then throw it out. And in the vein of my previous post on throwing things out that are useful, I started thinking more about waste in general. And again, paying for something that I can make at home. I really am stingy.

I was looking for recipes for multi-purpose wipes, but all of them seemed to use paper towels, which, while extremely convenient, are inherently wasteful. Don’t get me wrong, I love nothing more than using a paper towel to wipe up a big mess, but I’d kind of like to reduce my paper towel consumption a little. I started using microfibre cloths, which are AWESOME, but I’d also like a little more cleaning oomph for some of those grosser jobs. Then I stumbled upon this recipe from Apartment Therapy that doesn’t use paper towels.

Basically you make a super easy cleaning solution that you soak rags in. I decided to soak a few microfibre cloths instead, and they worked really well!

Here’s what you need:

1 Orange (I used 2 clementines)

2 Cups White Vinegar

2 Cups Boiling Water

A Few Drops of Olive Oil

A Couple of Cloths

1 Jar

Step 1: Peel the orange. Eat the orange (time this with your afternoon snack if you want) and put the peel in a jar. Cover with 2 cups of boiling water and let sit until it cools down a bit. The orange smells great! Squeeze the peel until the oils come out. Between this and the grapefruit stuff, my house smells like a citrus grove. And I love it.

Step 2: Add 2 cups of white vinegar and 2-3 drops of olive oil (DROPS, this isn’t a salad dressing).

Step 3: Throw in the cloths and let them soak for about 10 minutes or so.

Step 4: Get your husband with his big gronk hands to wring out the cloths. I can’t open pickle jars as I have arms like a Tyrannosaurus Rex, but if you have knuckles like a mechanic, do it yourself. They should be rung out as much as possible.

– Grant! Open these pickled beets! Rawr!

Step 5: Dump out the jar (save the peel) and fold the cloths tightly and place inside. Add the orange peel back into the jar so the smell permeates even more. Let them sit for a day.

That’s it. Again, easy right? I hate cleaning, so if it’s too difficult I’m not going to do it. And in keeping with my cleaning tips and tipples theme, here’s a recipe for 44 liquer.

Yes, you’re going to make your own liquer. It really isn’t that hard. It is harder than the cleaning cloths, but if you can’t manage that, you might as well give up right now. It takes a while to make, so you’ll have to do this in advance. 44 is a traditional French aperitif that uses orange and coffee as flavouring. I know that it sounds weird, but it is really good!

Ingredients:

1 Orange

44 Coffee Beans

6 Tablespoons of Sugar

1 Litre of Vodka

Wash the orange, then stab it with a knife 44 times. Stud the orange with the 44 coffee beans into the 44 holes. Throw it in a large jar, add the sugar and the vodka. Put the lid on, shake it up until the sugar dissolves and let it sit for 44 days. Shake the jar daily.

After 44 days, remove the orange and coffee beans and strain the vodka and put into a prettier bottle (or the original vodka bottle).

That’s it. Enjoy it in little glasses as an after dinner drink. Much more refreshing in the summer than coffee after dinner.

I wonder why it’s called 44?

This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips and Tipples, Cleaning/Organizing, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make Your Own Multi-Purpose Wipes

  1. I’m really intrigued by this 44 liquer recipe. I love how you make everything homemade!

    P.S. Did I already say thanks for linking to my site? If not, THANKS 🙂

    • Laura says:

      No problem. I just link to the sites I read regularly. I should probably ask permission first, but hey, who doesn’t love a little publicity? I love how you shrink down dessert recipes to two servings. A perfect little treat for my hubby and I.

  2. Jillian says:

    “Grant, open these pickled beets… rawr”!! Oh God, you crack me up Laura!!

Leave a Reply

