Project #2: Tree Stump Trivet, Part 2: Electric Boogaloo

OK, so back to the tree stump trivet. Bet you thought I’d forgotten about it, huh? Well, I almost did. No gloating allowed. I worked on it in the beginning of the week, and finished it up Saturday evening. What a thrilling social life I lead…

Anyway, keep gluing the felt strips around and around, alternating the colours until it’s about 6 inches across. Here’s the progress:

At about this point, you’re going to need to cut up the darkest brown felt into strips. You need a lot less of the dark brown felt. I got 9 1 inch strips from each sheet of felt, and that was all I needed for the outer bark. You just go around the edges about 3-4 times so you have a thick edge. Then you cut the strips into smaller lengths that you are going to stagger and build up a little, decreasing in size each time you build up a layer. This will look like a cute little tree bark edging for the trivet. Here’s some pictures again:

Let it dry for at least 3 hours, but preferably 24 hours and then it’s ready to use! I ended up buying less stinky fabric glue. It didn’t dry as stiffly as the glue from the original post and I ended up using the entire bottle before I added the stacking felt strips on the outer edge. I then used the old stinky stuff again, which actually worked out well because it helped tack the edges down and only took a minute, which really helps to reduce the brain damage from inhaling the fumes. I am really pleased with how it turned out. It was really easy and it’s cute! Along with the key rack, I’m apparently going for a woodland creatures theme for the house…

And here’s a picture of the finished trivet in action!

So cute! So easy! And you made it with your own little, glue-stained hands! Pat yourself on the back after you wash your hands. You don’t want to glue your fingers to your shoulder.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project #2: Tree Stump Trivet, Part 2: Electric Boogaloo

  1. Reeni says:

    That’s so cute! I still think cinnamon roll when I look at it – but I suppose that’s what happens when you’re food obsessed…

  2. Nadia Gubba says:

    It looks so good! Well done for persevering with it!! Nx

Leave a Reply

