Laundry

I hate doing laundry. HATE it. I actually worked in a laundromat the summer between high school and university. It was extremely hot and while I loved my bosses, I hated washing, drying and folding laundry. But it is a necessary evil. I find it easiest if I do it as I go as opposed to doing 6 large loads on the weekend (Grant uses a lot of towels and face cloths). And I like soft clothes, but I tend to get a little itchy if I use fabric softener or scented sheets. Here’s what you can use instead:

Vinegar

That’s it. Add about 1/2 a cup into the rinse cycle (or put it in a little washer ball that holds regular fabric softener at the beginning of the wash cycle). If you really want it to smell nicely, you can take some vinegar and add some essential oil. Shake it before you use it, as vinegar and oil don’t really like each other. Vinegar is also great at cutting the soap residue, which is even better for itchy skin like mine. It’s cheap, easy, chemical free and your clothes are softer. What else could you want?

Well, a drink would be nice. Here’s one of my favourites: a Cosmopolitan. I know, I know, it’s the typical “girl drink” right now, but it is really tasty. And the cranberry juice is great at preventing UTI’s, so drink it for your health!

1 1/2 oz vodka

3/4 oz triple sec

1 oz freshly squeezed lime (keep a slice for a garnish)

1 oz cranberry juice

ice cubes

Shake all the ingredients (except the lime slice) in a shaker with ice until very cold. Serve in a martini glass with a slice of lime as a garnish. Drink. Your fitted sheets may end up in a ball after 3 or 4 of these, but who really gives a crap?

This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips and Tipples, Cleaning/Organizing, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

