Baking: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

First of all, sorry for the delay in getting this up. Things have been crazy at work as I’ve been trying to get a lot of stuff done before I go on vacation at the end of next week and I’ve also started a new workout plan, which has been kicking my ass. No excuses, though! Here’s my latest post on baking.

Usually when I bake, I tend to bring it into work. I usually enjoy one and then bring them into the office so I don’t end up weighing 500 pounds. One of my co-workers (and good friend) transferred to an out of province branch last year, but moved back home last weekend. Since she usually misses my cupcakes, I decided to make a special batch for her.

I’ve heard about Peanut Butter Cup cupcakes and decided that this would be the occasion. Besides, what else can we eat at work to brighten the day? Anyway, I researched a bunch of recipes and decided to give Martha a rest, especially after the red velvet fiasco. One of my favourite cookbook authors and cooking show host is Ina Garten, otherwise known as the Barefoot Contessa. I find her food simple, elegant, easy and always delicious. And she has a recipe for Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting. Throw in a mini peanut butter cup, and voila! Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes!

For the Cupcakes:

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

2/3 cup white sugar

2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

2 extra large eggs (I only had large and it worked out fine)

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup buttermilk, room temperature

1/2 cup sour cream, room temperature

2 tablespoons brewed coffee

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

1 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

mini-peanut butter cups, one for each cupcake

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Cream butter and both sugars until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, then vanilla.

2. Whisk buttermilk and sour cream together. Sift flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Add the dry ingredients in 3 batches, wet in 2 (again in the order of dry, wet, dry, wet, dry).

3. Divide amongst the cupcake liners, plunk in a mini-peanut butter cup and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. It’s hard to get to the center as the peanut butter cup is in the way, but you’ll figure it out. Let cool completely before frosting. Next time, I’ll add a tablespoon of batter, then the peanut butter cup, then the rest of the batter so they’re more in the middle of the cupcake. They kind of stuck out of the top, but were still delicious.

This recipe yielded about 17 cupcakes. Not quite enough for the office, but it was fun watching the scramble for them. Next time, I hope to draw blood…

And now, the frosting:

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 cup smooth peanut butter

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup heavy cream

1. Cream sugar, peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt until smooth.

2. Beat in cream until light and fluffy.

That’s it. Yummy.

They’re pretty ugly. The frosting recipe didn’t quite make enough to pipe the frosting on neatly, but they were really, really yummy. Forgive the rushed pictures, I was getting ready to bring these to work and I was going to be late if I didn’t push it…

First they just look like like ugly, little cupcakes. But when you take a bite….

PEANUT BUTTER CUPS!!! WOOT WOOT!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baking: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

  1. Nadia Gubba says:

    I have just eaten a Reese’s Nutrageous bar and two regular sized peanut butter cups but I could still eat these! Delish! Nx

  2. Ariel says:

    These look wonderful!

  3. What a fun combination! I’m thinking they might be even better in a muffin top pan.

  4. Astral says:

    Yum! One of my favourite combos, great cupcakes x

Leave a Reply

