Long time, no blog…

Hi Everyone! So sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted. I’ve had a pretty busy fall. I won’t bore you with the details, but I’m back! And I’m working on a few things for the holidays.

This year, I realized that I’m actually sick of the commercialization and craziness of the holidays. I know, I know, that means I’m getting old. When I was a kid I couldn’t imagine not getting excited about presents. But after spending the day shopping yesterday and contemplating homicide as people chit-chatted and blocked the lanes (seriously, MOVE OVER!!!), I realized that I really needed to step back and look at what I enjoy about Christmas. And, surprise, it’s not the crazed drivers poaching spots in the parking lot.

I love getting together with my family and enjoying the Christmas meal. I enjoy looking at outdoor lights with my sweetie-pie husband. I like decorating the tree and listening to music (especially with the “fireplace in a box” on the DVD player). And, most of all, I love baking Christmas cookies while listening to Christmas Music on the radio. So, I figured, why not combine my love of baking with my hatred of shopping? Instead of buying a whole lot of gifts that people don’t really want, I’m buying a little gift and giving a collection of cookies. Grant’s grandfather is also getting some banana bread that he really likes, as well.

I’ve started researching good holiday cookie recipes (if you have any, please send them my way) and already I’m more relaxed about the holidays. I only have 5 more gifts to get and 3 are for Grant, so I’m doing pretty well so far! There’s also going to be a bake sale at work for a Kids Christmas charity, and I’m going to make some lemon meringue pies.

I know I’ve been negligent of my blogging duties, but keep checking back here. I’ve got a lot of baking to do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long time, no blog…

  1. Plum Kitchen says:

    Welcome back:) I hear ya on the Christmas shopping front, over here there is the added benefit of heat and 99% humidity so those frazzled holiday nerves get REALLY frayed, ho ho ho..:)

    • Laura says:

      Thanks! Glad to be back to normal! It’s been pretty hectic with work lately. I can’t imagine having to shop and handle the crowds with humidity! I’ll take snow any day!

Leave a Reply

