Holiday Baking: Chocolate Snowballs

Snowballs are a traditional Newfoundland Christmas cookie. They’re eaten throughout the year, but a Christmas cookie tray is not a Christmas cookie tray without a Snowball. They are basically little fudge-y balls that are rolled in coconut. Oh, and these aren’t baked. You heard me. Not baked. I guess this post should be called “Holiday Non-Baking”. But I digress…

Ingredients:

3 cups of sugar

3/4 cup melted butter

1 1/4 cup milk

3 cups quick oats

1 cup of unsweetened coconut, plus extra for rolling

1.5 cups cocoa powder

small pinch of salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Add sugar, butter and milk to a pot. Bring to a boil until it reaches soft ball on a candy thermometer. If you don’t have a thermometer, about 4-5 minutes at a good simmer/gentle boil should do it.

2. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. I usually add the vanilla last, when the mixture has cooled a little. Allow mixture to cool completely. I put it in the fridge, covered, overnight.

3. Roll into little balls and then roll in the extra coconut. These are very sticky, so I like to roll them all, then roll in the coconut and place on a cookie sheet. I like to put them back into the fridge to firm up or even the freezer. Chow down. Keep away from Abominable Snow Men…

That’s it. I got about 35 balls, slightly smaller than a golf ball each. These are tasty, most kids like them (I didn’t as I didn’t like coconut then, but I was a weird little kid) and super easy. AND they freeze well for up to 1 month (freeze in a single layer and then place into a freezer bag with the air pushed out). What more could you want? I know it’s early, but because they freeze so well, they’re the perfect cookie to start your Christmas baking!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Baking: Chocolate Snowballs

  1. Yum I love snowballs! Sometimes I put marshmallows in mine for some extra yum. Abominable Snow Men, ahaha awesome.

Leave a Reply

